The Moon & I

half the world is asleep finding comfort in their dreams
while a full moon hides behind scattered clouds drifting by.

I look over at you lying in my bed
I wonder what types of thoughts are alive in your head
as you rest.

at my very best, I’d never fall for you.
I know too well what bad decisions lead to
in the end.
I respect myself, but you never can.

I completely understand
the misconceptions people hold
on what it is to be man.

where do you go in your dreams?
I wonder if there is more to you than what it seems.
I’m not sure I’ll ever know.

moments like these make me wonder
if I can handle the choices I make
in the end.
I respect myself, but you never can.

I layer in your arms upon your request
listened to the beating in your chest
until your breath
became faint.

the window by the bed keeps me awake.
but when the morning comes, I will return to my
previous restraint.

this time I spend questioning our fate
is in vain.
I respect myself, but you never can
in the end.

one last glance at the moon completes the night
I take my place in bed, while thoughts
of you and I fill my head.

it’s moments like these I’ll keep inside
except when, in the middle of night,
it’s just us – the moon and I

Leave a Reply

