Once Upon A Time

I tried to write a story
and found no ink in my pen
I grabbed a pencil, later
and tried it again
the point broke off
three words in
I pressed too hard –
the story begins
“once upon a…”
-then ends.

the following day
I made another attempt
to write a poem of sorts
that starts off where I left
“once upon a…TIME
I had a pen with no ink;
a pencil that broke;
a mind that couldn’t think”
then the Cat in the Hat
came strolling my way –
kept saying the Doctor
would roll in his grave.
he ripped up the poem –
only left me one line
and with that I began

Once upon a time…

there lived a girl with such skill
she could write a million poems
that’d give the Devil a chill.
but, the old village Witch
cast a spell on the Scribe,
crippling her talent –
that which kept her alive.
the girl didn’t know
the source of her block
and as time ticked away
by the hands of the clock
she questioned her craft –
doubted her art
as the emptiness inside
sunk deep in her heart.
she visited the Healer
in search of a cure
but he never heard
of her disease before.
after days of confusion
weeks of disbelief
months of affliction
she needed relief.

so, she tried to write a story
and found no ink in her pen
she grabbed a pencil, later
and tried it again
the point broke off
three words in
she pressed too hard –
the story begins
“once upon a…”
-then ends.

Leave a Reply

