Meant To Be

one lump of tears and sorrow
sitting upon my porch
pleading for just one more tomorrow
from the depths of his being.

secretly, I kept my own heart beating
convinced we were meant to be
and in some crazy planetary meeting
we’d fall into each others arms

eternally embraced in a love
stronger than time or tears or youth
by some intention from heaven above
I thought he was sent for me

meant to be; well, not with me

it was all in my own mind
a creation of my misguided heart
a fantasy – of the simple kind
that set me back one year

now I must cut the rope
let go of my false reality
set a fire for any remaining hope
and watch it burn to ashes

I take a vow to myself quietly
I will not do this again
I’m done with love’s dishonesty –
I thought he was sent for me.

meant to be; Well, I sure lied to me

Leave a Reply

