Driving Down Dance Street

if I put it in reverse
will it take us back
to that fork
in the road
where we could converse
without a single curse
and stand
each other’s company
I wanna see that smile
that faded into the wind
around the 9th mile
where the road split
with no signs
to guide us

driving down dance street
I have to trust my feet
fast or slow, when to go
which turn to make
for my own damn sake

and if I put it in reverse
will it take us back
to a happier place
in love
where we put each other first
in our bubble of a universe
or will
we run out of gas
I wanna hit the brakes
and let you out the door
with a bag of mistakes
to burn for heat, or keep
as a memory
of our trip

Leave a Reply

